Media Release: The Eleven Faces Of Doctor Who Unite On Perth Mint Coins

Back to Media Announcements

Download PDF version

Friday 18 October 2013



Legendary sci-fi character Doctor Who has wandered the universe for 50 years but now fans of the show can keep all eleven incarnations of the good Doctor together in one place.

The Perth Mint has struck the ultimate collectors set on behalf of New Zealand Mint comprising eleven 1/2oz 999 fine silver coins each carrying a coloured image of the eleven Doctors to have played the role since the series creation in 1963.

Produced in collaboration with BBC Worldwide Australia & New Zealand, New Zealand Mint has appointed The Perth Mint the sole distributor of the rare coin set in Australia.

The coins are issued as legal tender of $1 from the South Pacific Island nation of Niue, making them an ideal item for Doctor Who fans around the world.

"Doctor Who is famed for his ever-changing embodiments and we’re delighted to be reminding fans across Australia of his unique regenerations with this limited edition coin set," said Perth Mint Sales and Marketing Director, Ron Currie.

"There are not many television shows which boast a 50 year history. To be able to celebrate that evolution in such a unique way, as this silver coin set does, is something Doctor Who fans will love," New Zealand Mint Chief Executive Simon Harding said.

Adds Rachael Hammond, BBC Worldwide ANZ’s Senior Licensing Executive, Consumer Products: "To celebrate 50 years is a remarkable achievement for a television show and these eleven silver coins provide a worthy memento of Doctor Who’s enduring popularity."

The 50th anniversary coin set is packaged in a special presentation case in the shape of the Doctor’s fob watch.

New Zealand Mint will release only 3,000 coin sets for sale worldwide. Priced at $699, the 50th Anniversary of Doctor Who 1/2oz Silver Proof Eleven-Coin Set can be purchased from The Perth Mint at 310 Hay Street in East Perth, by telephoning toll free 1800 098 817 or by visiting Collectors can also check availability of the set at leading coin dealers.

Doctor Who first aired on the BBC in 1963 and has since become an international sensation, attracting millions of fans around the world. The series celebrates its 50th anniversary on 23 November this year.

The Doctors include:

William Hartnell 1963-1966

Patrick Troughton 1966-1969

Jon Pertwee 1970-1974

Tom Baker 1974-1981

Peter Davison 1981-1984

Colin Baker 1984-1986

Sylvester McCoy 1987-1989, 1996

Paul McGann 1996

Christopher Eccleston 2005

David Tennant 2005-2010

Matt Smith 2010-2013


For more information, or images, please contact:

Sarah Roe, Marketing Communications Officer, The Perth Mint, Tel: (+61 8) 9421 7420 or email